Feeding chocolate to old demons.

During the first three years of my Ph.D. not a single day passed when I didn’t think: “Why am I doing this?”  Since my dissertation prospectus defense at the end of August – and after leaving the depressing confines of North Hall – the process has been much less painful for me.

Today, though, as I sat down at my computer to transcribe interviews and work on my fifth grant proposal of the academic year, I hit a familiar wall.  I just didn’t want to do it. Period. Even the tactic of timing myself in 25 minutes spurts and rewarding myself with Facebook glances wasn’t working.

So Jake tried a few new strategies.

  1. Bringing in bits of chocolate and leaving them on my desk in silence.
  2. Wearing flip-flops from my pedicure to make me laugh.
  3. Making a rum-and-coke at 3:00pm in the afternoon.
Jake

ps. Doesn’t Jake look cute in his new haircut?

Quitting time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeding chocolate to old demons.

  1. marrohr says:

    Adorbs!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Cindy says:

    It happens. It’s the story of my career. Some days I’m ready to dominate the world. Some days I just want to get a tan. The days I dominate are worth three times the days I get a tan. That’s real math. Work one, play three. No MathLab (SPSS for old people like me) required.

  3. Pingback: Rhinos and Connect Four | ABQ 2 ABD

  4. Pingback: Bonus | ABQ 2 ABD

Leave a Reply

