4 p.m. and it’s already been a long day…

Today I woke, showered, shaved and put on a nice button down shirt for my job interview. That’s right, Case and I are starting to plan our return to the United States, and that means I’ve started my job search. This morning I had a first interview, via skype, with an organization in Washington, D.C. (I’m not giving any more details on the job than that.) The interview went well, in that I really enjoyed the conversation and appreciated the new information I learned about the organization. However, it sounds like they already have a candidate for the position I applied for, and so wanted to talk with me more to see if I might fit into another, as yet undefined, spot with them or an organization they work with. That’s great news, just not what I was expecting.

I was done with the interview when Casey came back from yoga, feeling homesick for the United States. We were gonna make eggs and arepas for lunch, but realized we were out of arepas. Casey’s response to that, in her homesick/anti-anywhere-but-the-US mood, was “f*** arepas.” That prompted me to suggest we leave the apartment for lunch and this afternoon’s work. So we went to a trendy neighborhood for a good vegetarian restaurant, a nice coffee shop, and yes, trendy folks coming out the wazoo. Here are some pictures from our voyage out…

photo 3

Casey behind the castle we built with small, jenga-like blocks while waiting on the slow service at the vegetarian restaurant.

photo 1

Casey threatening take out her frustration with the slow service on our jenga castle.

Trendy hat wearers at the coffee shop.

Trendy hat wearers at the coffee shop.

Me acting like I'm posing for a photo so Casey can get a shot of this dude, who spent the afternoon chatting with his bros while never removing his sunglasses or that striped sweater he has draped over his shoulders.

Me acting like I’m posing for a photo so Casey can get a shot of this dude, who spent the afternoon chatting with his bros while never removing his sunglasses or that striped sweater he has draped over his shoulders.

We lasted a couple hours at the coffee shop. It was mostly fine. But Casey had to switch locations once after the guy sitting on the other side of her started a skype conversation with some shirtless guy back home about how for the past two weeks he’s just been going out and getting wasted. Then I got burnt out on the place, and so we came home to finish our work. Casey’s reading now, and I’m sitting on the balcony again. Maybe 4 p.m. is early to crack a beer, but I feel like it’s justified today.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 p.m. and it’s already been a long day…

  1. Sarah says:

    Keeping fingers crossed about the job!! Sounds like a nice cold beer is in order!! Looking forward to feeding you “American” food in May!!

  2. Dad & Carrie says:

    Congrats on the CIA interview….or was it NSA? No matter, Casey has that hypoglycemic, “I will tear your heart out and throw it beating on the ground look” that I know so well. The guy in the striped shirt never knew how close to death he was. Better that way. Protein is the antidote. You guys are doing great. Eat, Casey please eat. I love you both, you only have to kick trendy Columbian asses for a few more weeks.

Leave a Reply

